BookTubeAThon and my failure

I began BookTubeaThon on July 15th.  It was a YouTube challenge set by padfootandprongs07 and ArielBisset put forth to drag YouTubers into an awesome readathon.

So, I wrote down my challenges and got to work.  Wouldn’t you know it, work destroyed any time I had to read in a marathon style.  I got through most of American Gods by Neil Gaiman, which is more reading than I’ve done in ages.  I finished it today, two days after the BookTubeAThon deadline  In my defense, I read a second book, short though it was, in the three hours following my triumph over American Gods.

The second book was The Hope Chest, by my friend Jenifer Jennings.  I had promised her I’d read it for AGES and I just suck at life and reading so…. It’s taken me over a year.  I’m a terrible friend.  It’s not something that’s normally up my alley, but I enjoyed it alright.  The collection of stories surrounding the Hope Chest in the novel were poignant and engaging.  I recommend it.

Now that I’m back to reading, I really do need to get more of it done.  I’ve missed it.

For those of you wondering, I will not meet my Camp NaNoWriMo word count goal, but you know what? For once I don’t feel badly about it.  I made great progress in my novel.  It’s something I won’t hate at the end of the event because it was rushed or forced or under-planned.  It’s a piece I have confidence in, and an underlying subject that means a great deal to me.  Despite my word count failure, I’m calling this a win.  Kadri and her crew are coming to life in my Scrivener file, and I can’t wait to have it printed so I can edit it and send it off.

Until next time. <3

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing

Leave a Reply

