“Traveling with Shadow”

Hey folks!  As you are all abundantly aware (since I post about it on Facebook or Twitter every fifteen minutes), I’ve been reading American Gods by Neil Gaiman.  It’s taken me awhile to get through it, due to scheduling at work and such, but I’ve made significant progress.  All thanks to BookTubeaThon (which I will brief you on in my next post.  There was supposed to be a video, but– no, nevermind, on with the show!).

During my reading and frequent posting about my reading, I’ve met a fantastic bunch of people.  People can talk crap about Twitter all they want, but, if you use it right, you can make some amazing connections and find people you have things in common with that you might not expect.  Which brings me to the reason for this post:

American Gods is really a fantastic book, and it makes you want to follow it, see what the characters saw, and experience what the characters experience.  Shadow, the protagonist, for instance.  Well, this cool guy named Chuck has planned an entire road trip following Shadow’s journey across the U.S. during his time working for Mr. Wednesday and his “cause.”  Tell me that’s not incredibly awesome.  You can’t!  Because who doesn’t want to do that?

The thing is, the Traveling with Shadow project is obviously going to be a bit pricey, as with any trip, and Chuck and his team have created an IndieGoGo campaign to get this awesome plan on the road (pun: intended. You’re welcome).  They’re trying to raise $9000 to cover all of the expenses he’s going to incur.  It’s all broken down on the campaign page, which I’m going to share with you at the bottom of this post. So, why is Chuck doing it?

“When I first read American Gods I fell in love with the book as I’m sure many of you have too. I am curious to see the places in the book, and I think Neil would enjoy knowing that he has inspired at least one person to do this trip. The reason I’m sharing this trip with you, is so YOU can enjoy it too. This book has been loved by many, and this is my way of paying tribute to one of my favorite authors of all time. (I mean, have you read The Ocean at the end of the Lane yet? GREAT book!)”

Now, I know I have Neil Gaiman fans who read this blog, so if you love the idea, contribute!  If you can’t contribute, I absolutely urge you to share the campaign link and tell everyone just why it is you think it’s worth sharing.

I can’t do the campaign justice, so here are the links to everything so you can read up in Chuck and his team’s own words.  They’re passionate about this and so am I–if you’re a Gaiman fan, you might be, too!

Links

Traveling with Shadow – The Indie GoGo Campaign

TravelingwithShadow.net

Traveling with Shadow on FACEBOOK!

The road trip route, via Roadtrippers.com

Traveling with Shadow on G+!

Traveling with Shadow on Twitter!

There you have it, dolls!  Check it out!  Get inspired! Contribute, share, and encourage!

Until next time. *salute*

4 Comments

Filed under Writing

4 responses to ““Traveling with Shadow”

  1. Reblogged this on The move across the country and commented:
    I can’t thank Goggles and Lace enough!

  2. The adventure becomes a reality! Very nice..#TWSAG

  3. Reblogged this on Drop by Drop We Fill the Pot and commented:
    Excellent! Let the adventures begin #TWSAG

Leave a Reply

