My First Story

So, Camp NaNoWriMo round 2 starts in 10 days, and The Office of Letters and Light is in the midst of a huge summer fundraising drive to keep their offices powered for the year.  One of the mini events associated with this drive is called “My 1st Story,” a social media call to arms for all of us to express why writing matters.  Check out the #my1ststory hashtag chat to see all of the amazing first stories Wrimos are sharing.

https://twitter.com/GogglesandLace/status/347806409246785537

This story about Mara was fully illustrated and I vaguely remember that she and the snake had been friends before she had to fight him.  It was on white construction paper and bound with that plastic party ribbon you use scissors to curl.  It stayed in my desk drawer in my room for about eight years before I threw it out.

Having written Mara’s little adventure 21 years ago, I don’t remember the details, but I’ll always remember the bubble-headed little princess with the brown hair and her squiggly evil green snake buddy.

If you want to show how Stories Matter, go to The OLL’s “My 1st Story” post and use their templates and ideas to tell us about yours!

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing

Leave a Reply

