Amping Up the Gump

Heya, kids!

Over the last few days, I’ve been working hard at moving into a new place and getting some things on track.  But I’m here now, at least for the month, and I’m settled enough to focus on writing.  Which is necessary, since Wrimos with Gumption has that fabulous June deadline, and I’m not looking to drop caffeine and junk food for a solid thirty days if I don’t make it.

That’s why I’m proposing a couple of challenges.  These challenges welcome everyone, of course, but they’re primarily directed at the Gump.  Feel free to join in, though!

Challenge Number 1: Writing Gump-a-thon!  I’ve had a hard time getting my mojo going lately.  With moving and working and anticipating another move in March, life has been too hectic for writing.  NOT ANYMORE.  Today, I challenge you.  From Wednesday, 6 February 2013, at midnight, I shall hold a write-a-thon!  The write-a-thon shall end on 6 March 2013.  I don’t have any rewards to offer right now, except that if you finish the write-a-thon, your blog/website/shop/book/whatever will be in its own featured post on G&L.

The Rules:

1.  Set your own goal and stick to it.  No flip-flopping.  Pick a word count you want to achieve within the month, and make it happen.  In order to qualify for the featured post, the word count goal must be a minimum of 10,000 words.

2.  The write-a-thon starts at midnight on 6 Feb 2013.  Beginning early will disqualify you from receiving your featured post.  **EDIT**  To clarify, you can use a novel you’ve already started!  You just cannot count anything prior to 6 February.  I apologize for the confusion.**

3.  All word counts must be reported by 6 Mar 2013, 11:59:59 PM.  Late reports will disqualify you from receiving your featured post.

If anyone has any ideas for rules or rewards, feel free to pitch them.  And if any non-Gumpers want to be a part of the community, check us out on Facebook: Wrimos with Gumption: A Beyond NaNoWriMo Challenge.

Challenge Number 2:  Freight-Train-of-Gump Edit-a-Thon!  Coming soon!

2 Comments

Filed under Writing

2 responses to “Amping Up the Gump

  1. Erin M

    Good luck, Kit! Sounds like a great project!

    Hope the move has gone well and that you’re settling in nicely.

    Happy writing!

    • If nothing else, it’ll be a fun and productive failure. XD I’ll just be happy to make a bit of progress.

      The move has gone well enough, though I’m leaving all my non-essentials packed to make my move in March a bit easier. Unfortunately, it means tearing up boxes looking for stuff and repacking the things I know I won’t need as I go. Haha. Moving is so messy.

Leave a Reply

