NaNoWriMo Approacheth!

I’ve been on the 6-day work week for awhile now, and I’m sad to say that my writing has taken a backseat to making a living (which isn’t panning out much, either, really).  Every year I try to make time for writing during NaNoWriMo, and my 5-year-run, with 2 wins and 3 losses, has been a fixture in my creative life.  You all have been with me on that journey for the last two years, and I’ve adored every minute of feedback and commiseration I’ve shared with all of you.

That sounded oddly like a farewell, didn’t it?  Well, it’s not.  NaNo is around the corner, and I’m world building like the universe is about to come to a crashing halt and my ideas are the only thing between us and utter extinction.  I have two whiteboards that are being filled over and over, recorded into notebooks, and transcribed into Scrivener files.  Characters who need fleshing out.  Locations that need to be detailed.

It’s a lot to do in a short amount of time, but you know what?  I always feel so… in my element when I’m plotting for NaNo.  Even now, coming off of another lengthy dry spell, I’m doing much better plotting for NaNo than I have for anything else in the last few months.

I just wanted to send out a reminder that I’m still alive and NaNo is coming, so if you haven’t started plotting– GET ON THAT!  Woo!

Damn it’s good to be home! <3  I’ll race you all to the start of 50k!

9 Comments

October 22, 2012 · 10:58 PM

9 responses to “NaNoWriMo Approacheth!

  1. Kit, it’s good to meet you.

    I’ve been checking out You Tube videos for NaNoWriMo tips and inspiration and I came across one you posted in June. How did that “camp” go? Did you finish your story?

    I wish you the best this time around!

    • Unfortunately, camp NaNo is an event that never really goes well for me. I have high hopes for the main event, though! Do you have any solid plans for NaNo ’12?

      Thanks for reading! =]

  2. Phil N. Schipper

    I actually like to do very little planning. Last year I planned absolutely nothing up until the very moment I started. Of course it was by far the silliest and weirdest novel I’ve ever written, but it worked. This year’s basic idea lends itself well to just messing around and being strange too.

    Go ahead, call me crazy.

    • Planning? WHAT IS THIS MADNESS?
      I don’t plan much either, but my main story isn’t exactly intricate. (or if it is, I don’t have to know how everything fits together just yet) I’m also writing some shorter stories, so a vague outline works well enough.

      …Okay, okay. I wanted to plan but got too caught up and excuses and stuff ;-;

      • XD I’m a planoholic. Unfortunately I’m also a notorious procrastinator. My insides are warring.

      • I think about planning. I think about how I’m going to name all the chapters by October, with little notes saying what will happen in them. I think about how I’ll work out the ending first, then write the beginning. Come november I have a few character scribbles and one scene in my head. :p

    • You’re not crazy! I know so many people who are actually giving pantsing a shot this year because plotting didn’t work well for them in the past. If pantsing works for you, then embrace it! =]

  3. Kit, we should buddy up on the site. I am trying a fresh start and new approach to my story from August and would love to keep up with your progress :) the_blue_violinist

    • I’ve collected you! If you like internet motivation, I frequent a chat at writewriteandwrite.com. It’s at the bottom of the page. We sprint and war ourselves mindless in November. =]

      In fact, anyone above is more than welcome to join us. We do so love fresh meat. =]

Leave a Reply

