Writing Life: What’s in Your Author Bag?

Image © udt007us

I’m curious.  Every writer has their list of “Essentials” that they take everywhere with them.  It’s important to give yourself the opportunity to record those brilliant ideas that come barreling at you out of nowhere, in the most inconvenient of situations.  (We all have our “brilliant idea in the shower” moments.  I hear they have waterproof whiteboards for that, by the way.)

Let me give you a run down of the things I carry around with me on the daily.  You’ll probably laugh, it’s a little out of control, but here goes.

If it’s my purse:

  • Full-sized notebook for plotting.
  • Smaller notebook for jotting.
  • A handful of pens in black, red, and blue.
  • 3 highlighters; pink, orange, and yellow.
  • A flash drive on my key chain.
  • A flash drive in my wallet pocket.
  • Daily planner, complete with writing “to do” list.
  • Kindle.

If it’s my backpack (which is really more often than not):

  • All of the above.
  • Netbook.
  • 2 more full sized notebooks.
  • A travel cup filled with a caffeinated drink of the day.
  • Sketchbook.
  • Several mechanical pencils and a pink eraser.
  • The kitchen sink.

I go a little overboard, especially when I’m going somewhere for the purpose of writing.

Anyway, the point is, it’s okay to go a little overboard, in my opinion.  I like to have everything so that I know I’m not missing anything if I need it.

So, what’s in your author bag, and how does it work for you?

7 Comments

Filed under Writing, Writing Life

7 responses to “Writing Life: What’s in Your Author Bag?

  1. One laptop, cell phone (jot notes in the memos), headphones (w/mic), diary, notebook for current story I’m working on and writing books to help get the juices flowing and whatever book(s) I’m currently reading.

  2. Katie

    In my purse: Phone, small notebook, 3ish pens, iPod w/headphones AND car adapter, book, Kindle (now that I have one).
    In backpack: All of the above (or w/purse): 2 more notebooks, binder, more pens, mechanical pencils, highlighters, colored pens, laptop & charger.
    I feel as though I am forgetting something….but I think I carry more than enough as is =P

    • Hahaha! I ALWAYS feel like I’m forgetting something! Lady, you’re worse than I am.

      Wait! Wait… no… I don’t think you are. *counts* Actually, I think we’re about on par. XD

      • Katie

        Oh dear, am I really? -Reevaluates the need for all of this in my purse- Nope, I think I need it all xD Oh the life of a writer… ;)

  3. Oooohhh boy. :-P

    I used to carry a notebook, a handful of pens, pencils, two flash drives, post its, eraser, pencil sharpener, my calendar/to-do list, and I’m sure I’m forgetting something.

    These days, I carry my iPad, headphones (for listening to music while writing), charging equipment for the iPad, pens, pencils, pencil sharpener, and both flash drives.

    Oddly, I think the purse is just about the same weight as it used to be pre-iPad. :-P

  4. Welll. I only carry around my cell phone, my file folder for The Never Ending War, because that’s what I tend to work on most, some pens and pencils, my iPod for music, and some loose paper. :P
    But I carry it all around in the same purse that I carry all of my school stuff in, so my purse is heavy, and there’s not much room for anything. >.<

Leave a Reply

