A Challenge

Hello, my loves.

If you’re anything like me, you struggle sitting down to write every day.  Whether it’s writer’s block, life getting in the way, work, kids, pets, lethargy, or the dreaded fear, there’s something keeping you from your keyboard.  It’s an awful feeling to know that you want to write. You love to write.  But you’re  just not writing.

I’m here to save the day.  Kind of.

Tomorrow is May 1st, spring is in the air, and for once, the bleak, depressing darkness of winter is peeling away.  The perfect time for a new beginning (and we all need one now and then, that’s for sure).

My proposal?

Sit down and commit yourself to at least ten minutes of writing every single day.  Just ten minutes.  Sit down, set a kitchen timer, and work on one of your current writing projects.  It doesn’t have to be one single project, you can break it up over anything you happen to be working on, even if that means starting a new piece of flash fiction.  This exercise is about progress, passion, and putting forth the effort even when you’re not feeling your best.

If you feel like doing more (or simply just want to make use of available time)? FANTASTIC!  Write as much as you can for as long as you can!  Feed on the creative flow!

The rules?

  • You have to put in a minimum of 10 minutes per day for the entire 31 days of May.  If you have to break it up into five minutes here and five minutes there, go for it!  The point is, you’re getting your ten minutes done!
  • ‘Progress’ doesn’t just mean ‘writing.’  If your novel is in dire need of character sheets and an outline, work it for ten minutes!  If you haven’t started an outline for your novels and just want to brainstorm, try cluster mapping, listing, or just scribbling ideas.  Free-writing your ideas opens you up to a lot of possibilities that might not have been there if you over think it.
  • Don’t limit yourself.  If you have the time and creative flow to work more than ten minutes, keep going.  What’s stopping you?  Laziness is not allowed for those ten minutes, and getting on a roll can only help your work!

The rules are pretty simple and flexible.  Make this project your project.  It’s no NaNoWriMo, but in that stagnant place between Novembers, it’ll keep you moving.  =P

Optional fun?

  • Create a log of your work.  I plan on writing down what progress I made (even if I missed the 10-minute-mark.  Nobody’s perfect) in each 10-minute interval, and posting a weekly progress report on my blog.  Join me?  =]
  • Recruit friends.  I know it’s short notice, but starting late won’t kill anyone.  And it’s not against the rules.  =P
  • Share bits of what you’ve worked on.  Show us your progress!  Photos of your cluster maps, writing space, hand-scrawled pages! Don’t be shy.  This could also be a fun way to add to your blog. =P
  • Link me to any posts you make about this challenge!  I’d love to showcase your work in my posts if it’s okay by the authors!

Bottom line, just have fun with this!  We write because we love it.  What’s holding you back?

19 Comments

Filed under May Challenge, Writing

19 responses to “A Challenge

  1. Jess Witkins

    Wow, you and I are sharing the same brain. Or busy schedule, at the least. I’m on board. We can keep each other motivated to do our writing every day for at least 10 minutes. Great plan! Who’s with us?

  2. I’m in! I need to flex my creativity muscle more.

  3. Pingback: May Challenge Update… and other stuff, too. « Goggles & Lace

  4. Pingback: More Updates! | Goggles & Lace

  5. naturally like your web site however you have to check the spelling on quite a few of your posts.
    Many of them are rife with spelling issues and I in finding it
    very troublesome to inform the truth however I will surely come back again.

    • I appreciate the input, and I’ll spell check my posts a bit better. I type quickly, and sometimes my dyslexia gets the better of me. I can’t get them all, and, since this blog is a hobby for me, I’m not terribly worried about the typos that get through. Sorry if that bothers you.

  6. Hi, I wish for to subscribe for this website to obtain newest updates, thus where
    can i do it please help.

  7. Hi there! I know this is kinda off topic but I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest writing a blog article or vice-versa?
    My website discusses a lot of the same subjects as yours and I feel we
    could greatly benefit from each other. If you are interested
    feel free to send me an e-mail. I look forward to hearing from you!
    Terrific blog by the way!

  8. I’m excited to uncover this web site. I need to to thank you for ones time just for
    this wonderful read!! I definitely savored every little bit of it and i also have you saved
    to fav to look at new stuff on your site.

  9. Hi mates, pleasant article and pleasant arguments commented at this place, I
    am in fact enjoying by these.

  10. It’s very straightforward to find out any topic on web
    as compared to books, as I found this paragraph at this website.

  11. Tae Soo Do, an undergraduate version was created in 1990 because Hwa Rang Do is very complicated and difficult for most present day students.
    Others believe the Escrima art form to be wholly developed by the Filipino people.

    Japanese weapons typically include those used by
    warriors, such as the Samurai.

  12. Heey there, I think your website might be having browsser compatibility issues.

    When I look att your blog site in Firefox, it looks finee but when opening in Internet Explorer, it
    has some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick
    heads up! Other then that, terrific blog!

  13. Just one repeating pitch have been to develop a barrier to interchange or augment time frame rail, an important part of the bridge’s initial
    structural layout. The video also comprised interview with surviving
    relatives of those who leaped meetings with sees and, in a single section, a meeting with
    kevin hines who, for a 19-calendar year-old in 2000, lived through a committing
    suicide jump from your cover and it’s now a singing advocate for a link barrier or
    internet to forestall these kinds of incidents.
    Head to and begin their day on new fabric
    for the next recording. May be the body of laws and operations relating to people the.

    Regulation in-set with the requirements the berne tradition. The victims claimed that this uraa dishonored the
    InchlimitednessIn . with the copyright name by doing
    away with will work from the.

  14. Ray-Ban sunglasses is in perspective, the Hepburn as if that is the real princess.
    Some phony eyeglasses can be noticed just by assessing the good quality alone.
    Ordinary individuals take fashion inspirations from celebrities therefore it’s no wonder Ray Ban’s
    revenue are consistently increasing. RX 5154 Eyeglasses- Attractive, comfortable and light-weight, the Ray Ban RX
    5154 can be worn on all occasions.

  15. Some designer maternity wear brands specialize in maternity
    wear dresses, others specialize in maternity pants or maternity suits.
    When there is a special occasion or formal event that needs dressing for, once again there is
    a gorgeous selection of now stunning maternity wear dresses for every occasion. One wants clothing that is certainly comfy and functional
    whilst maintaining a fantastic sense of fashion and do the job appropriateness.
    Strapless always looks elegant, and can present great muscles.

  16. When most Mac users want to chat with friends online, they sign into i – Chat, the free instant messaging
    service that is shipped as part of the operating system.
    And as long as you know these people want to speak with
    you, you are in good shape. Yes, it is good advice for Muslim and non-believer alike.
    Other value added service which is very crucial is that you can update yourself with
    the news or latest happening in the world around you.

Leave a Reply

