A Question from a Friend

So, recently, an unnamed friend of mine sent me an email asking about writing.  I thought it would be beneficial to share the question and my answer, for everyone out there who has serious self-confidence problems when it comes to their writing.  (It’s not so uncommon as you might think!)

Dear Katie,

I want to write weird interesting stories but do you think I lack the talent? Also how many days a week should I write if I don’t have alot of time? Just curious I know I asked before lol but need your opinion. I want to write about faeries in an asylum but that’s all I can think of. lol Is any idea to weird?
Your friend [xxxxx]
My response (which incidentally sounds a bit harsher than I expected it to):
Rule #1:  Stop questioning whether you have the talent.  People may have a way with words, but writing skill is built through practice.  Write or don’t write.  That’s all there is to it.  If you want to write weird stories, write them.

Rule #2: Write whenever you feel like writing.  Ideally, every day.  But we all know that ‘every day’ just doesn’t happen all the time.  Write when you feel like writing. If you never feel like writing, but you still want to ‘at some point’ then procrastination is your problem, and you have to make yourself do it if you really want it.  When you have the time, write.  Even the busiest person on the planet has ten minutes here and there where there’s nothing to do.  Jot ideas down, or something.

Rule #3:  If you think about it, you can write it.  Who cares if someone might think the idea is too weird?  Someone else might love the subject matter.  For as many people as there are on this planet, there are just as many points of interest.  Not everyone will love it.  Not everyone will hate it.  What matters is that YOU love writing it.

So, there you have it.  That’s my opinion on the matter.  I’m no authority on the subject, and my way isn’t the “only way,” so do what feels right to you.
2 Comments

Filed under Writing

2 responses to “A Question from a Friend

  1. You said exactly what I would have said. :)

Leave a Reply

