Lack of Motivation or Just Plain Laziness?

Since my move to FL, I’ve had a difficult time getting back into writing.  It’s taken a backseat to depression, home sickness, and self-doubt.  Mostly, I’ve just lost the motivation to keep writing.  Until now.  I’ve spent the last couple of months analyzing why I’ve lost the drive to do what I love and I’ve come to the conclusion that being down in the dumps just sucks away the will to find creativity.

After all, creativity isn’t just there.  It has to be mined and molded into something worth presenting.  Creativity isn’t worth a damn if you don’t have the drive to work at it, right?

I had an English teacher tell me once, “Yeah, that’s very creative.  Terrific.  Now do something with it.”

Doing something with it is where the work comes in.  Two months of doing absolutely nothing with my writing and my general creativity makes me CRAZY.  But still unmotivated.

Or lazy?

Maybe I just fell into a rut and I’m completely unwilling to pull myself out because laying at the bottom of the pit, looking up is easier than trying to climb the walls.

I could blame it on writer’s block…. except I don’t believe in writer’s block.  Fortunately, considering blaming writer’s block, a concept that never held any water for me, was exactly where I found my solution.

Write.  It doesn’t matter what you write, as long as you’re writing.  Eventually, in that flow of scribbles or key-taps, the block will be broken.  And in that flow of scribbles and key-taps, the lack of motivation, and lack of will to climb out of the pit is thwarted.

Short answer?  I tricked myself into writing again.

How do you thwart lack of motivation or laziness?

5 Comments

Filed under Life, Writing

5 responses to “Lack of Motivation or Just Plain Laziness?

  1. Erin M

    I can hardly imagine how difficult the past couple months must have been for you, Kit.

    I’m so glad you found a way to start writing again! And yeah, being depressed or generally down can definitely stunt creativity. =\

    Keep writing and keep feeling better!
    xoxo

  2. I fully recognize what your teacher said about talent. You take talent and no work and you got nothing but a wasted talent. Still, I sometimes feel myself going through spells where I am not as motivated as I should be. When those times come around, it is easy to use any excuse that comes along. My wife and I are supporting a family, kids, car payments, mortgage, the whole nine yards. When I am not motivated, it is easy to say that it has been a long day. When I give in to that, which is more times than I care to admit, my day just doesn’t feel right. When I go ahead and write, even just a little bit, it helps. The more days I do it, the better I feel.

    Still, I go through those times…

    I hope maybe this has helped. It is good to meet a fellow writer. Good luck.

    http://timkeen40.wordpress.com

  3. Girl, I have not written a single sentence I liked in over two months. And here I thought I could do NaNoWriMo. And the sentences I have written sine that plan failed I’ve hated (except two of them. I liked two of them). So I’m with you all the way on the rut. I just can’t shake it and need to snap out of it. Maybe my three writing classes next semester will help. Or kill my love for writing. That was a joke.

    Glad you’re getting back on your feet though :)

  4. unabridgedgirl

    Ugh. The dumps. I totally get what you mean by it being easier to do nothing than try climbing the walls. Sometimes I feel like I all I do is move three steps forward and fall six steps back. But I am so glad you are back, so glad that you’ve been able to make it this far – and that you’re blogging! You’re wonderful, Kit.

  5. “Write. It doesn’t matter what you write, as long as you’re writing.”

    Amen.

    Also know, that while the road is rough right now, the rough spots *will* pass.

    (BTW, this is my — Heather Ingemar’s — musical alter-ego, lol. I’m doing an experiment for 2011 to write only verse & song. So far, so good, although it’s a wee bit alien in comparison to prose, lol!)

Leave a Reply

