Opening Myself to the Terror of Submitting My Work

I mentioned in my last post that I’d be working on a submission for Steampunk Tales, and I was hoping to have it finished by the end of last week.  So did not work out that way.  I’m still working on the details and hammering it to death, but I feel like the piece I’m submitting will be worth something, even if that ‘something’ isn’t what they’re looking for.

Also, Fantasy Magazine is opening their doors for submission of fiction starting October 1st, and my good friend Pat has challenged me to write a piece and submit with him.  I highly doubt I can make it before October 1st, but I’ll make the effort.  After all of this, I think I’m going to take a break from taking on challenges for awhile.  Whew.

Also, Inkwell Imaginings, the writing group I run with Jess, will be expanding to every Monday night staring October 4th.  We’ll be running workshops every other week, with the first scheduled for October 25th with focus on character creation and development.  We’re working on obtaining guest speakers for our critique circle nights, whether it be for a physical visit and interview or Skype chat.  Also, if anyone wants to JOIN II on Monday nights, but isn’t in the area, we are working on setting up a video chat conference to allow for it.  Feel free to let me know if you’re interested.  It might get our butts in gear on that front.  =P

Once again, looking for published writers or people in ‘the business’ who wouldn’t mind chatting with a library writing group and answering a few questions over Skype or a chat client.  We can’t offer compensation, except for our love…. which we hold in very high regard. <3  =P

Attendees interested in joining through Skype, also let me know.  We need motivation to get this going, but we really haven’t got the need for it yet.  Don’t be shy!

Any questions, feel free to email me at katiemacconnell[at]gmail[dot]com.

Love you, guys.  =]

6 Comments

Filed under Life, Writer's Group, Writing

6 responses to “Opening Myself to the Terror of Submitting My Work

  1. Don’t send it out until you feel it’s ready. On the other hand, don’t edit and tweak it until it falls apart. :P Sounds like you’ve got it though. Best of luck when you do send it out. :)

    I might be interested in chatting with your library group, but I don’t know a thing about Skype — I’m much more familiar with instant message/chat clients…

    • HEATHER!! That would be fantastic! And I feel you, believe me. I’m Skype-tarded. If you’d prefer to chat over a messenger service, we can make that happen. We hold the group on Monday nights from 6pm to 7pm EST. If you decide it’s something you’re interested in doing for us, just let me know when you’ve got some time on a Monday night. =]

      I’ll have the group prepare a few questions before that night so things go reasonably smoothly.

      As for submitting, I’ve fallen into my own pace. Trying to please everyone is only making my work suffer. Can’t be making myself look bad with sub-par writing when I know I can do better. Thanks for the advice. <3 =]

      • Well, let’s see. I’m on PST, so that would be… 3pm? That’s doable. Do you meet every Monday, or only certain Mondays?

        Re: submitting — don’t try to please everyone. Please yourself first, and only then worry about what the other readers say. :) Then, YOU get to decide if they’re right on in their suggestions, or if they missed the point (and what you have to do/change to help them see the point). Trying to please everyone right off the bat just pulls you into too many directions. One step at a time. :)

  2. Penny

    I’m with Heather, don’t send it out ’til you feel it’s ready. You’re amazing, though, so don’t fret! :) Also, I might be up for the Skype thing as well. Best wishes, Kit!

    xoxo
    Penny

    • D’aw. Thanks! =] I’ll make sure to keep everyone posted on here, so if you’re interested in Skype-ing (I thought it would be easy to turn Skype into a verb, but my thoughts lied) I’ll make sure there’s ample info posted as it develops. =]

  3. Submitting is the hardest thing ever. I think we’re on a brainwave about it though b/c I just posted about this too.

Leave a Reply

