Be Gentle with One Another

I’d like to share a post I read over at Sacred Mists, entitled Be Gentle With One Another.  A list of affirmations.

1. Never jump to conclusions.

2. Always give the benefit of the doubt.

3. Make constructive criticism the only criticism you will give.

4. Always give a second chance.

5. Find forgiveness in your heart, no matter the issue.

6. Recognize that everyone makes mistakes, even yourself.

7. Always treat others how you wish to be treated.

8. Never forget to place yourself in the other person’s shoes, even if just for a moment.

9. Recognize that we all carry baggage. Don’t make yours someone else’s.

10. Recognize that we have all come to Mother Earth to learn our life lessons. You can choose to help those who are learning, or reject them when their lessons become hard to deal with.

11. Always give importance to yourself in every situation, but not so much that it removes compassion and understanding.

12. Open yourself to the love and harmony that is offered within your spiritual path.

13. Remove yourself from any place or person where you find yourself incapable of being loving and nurturing, but always recognize that it is your issue and not their own.

14. No one can do anything to you that you do not allow them to do, consciously or subconsciously.

15. We are all complete with perfection and faults that balance us into imperfect beings.

16. To dislike, hate, or otherwise reject one whom you feel wronged by is to reject your own ability to learn lessons that are being presented to you.

17. Be a positive influence.

18. The old adage, “if you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all” holds true in all group settings, at a minimum. Create a “safe haven” experience wherever you are. Be a part of holding that philosophy in every interaction.

19. Love. Simply love. Yourself, and others.

20. Be the change you want to see in the world.

16 Comments

Filed under Life, Paganism

16 responses to “Be Gentle with One Another

  1. unabridgedgirl

    I’ve always had an easier time forgiving other people more than forgiving myself. Sometimes I forget that it’s okay to make mistakes, and it’s okay to pick up the pieces and move on without chaining myself down to my past mistakes.

    I really enjoyed reading through this list. Thanks for sharing, Kit!

  2. Lua

    Such a great list, thank you for sharing this Kit!
    # 4 is the reason why Persuasion is my favorite Austen Book :)
    And I know that no one would like to admit, but usually with #13 the issue has nothing to with anyone but us…

  3. This is a beautiful list. It’s the sort of thing I want to print out and hang on my closet door, right next to my computer – that way I can be reminded to try to strive for these things every day.

    There is only one of the things on this list that bothers me, but maybe I’m being too sensitive: “14. No one can do anything to you that you do not allow them to do, consciously or subconsciously.” This one is not always true. Sometimes bad things are done to people who have no desire, conscious or subconscious, to allow.

  4. I enjoyed this list. If only everyone kept these things at the forefront of their minds.

  5. I really like 8 and 9. I read a quote awhile ago that went something like, “Be kind because everyone you meeet is fighting a harder battle.” I always try to remember that. Great list!

  6. *takes a deep breath* Thank you.

    Now, if only we can attach this to the forehead of every human being in the world. Whisper it in their ears when they wake up in the morning.

    I try to be the person that this list describes. :-) I’m not perfect, but it’s good advise (and great for avoiding stress-based muscle tension, actually…) Thanks so much for sharing this.

    Love the new layout, but the way. The header image is fun. :-)

    • Sneak in and scribble the list in dry erase marker on everyone’s mirrors before they wake up in the morning. That would be epic. =P

      And thank you. I had a moment of boredom, and needed a change. ^_^

  7. Fantastic list! I think I’ve seen it once before as well, but it still rings true :) It’s a great way to live

  8. Great new theme btw. As you can probably see, I change mine quite often and I like running into someone who mixes things up a bit as well :)

    • Glad you like the list. And the layout. =P I’m surprised I went that long without changing it, honestly. My attention span for some things is ridiculous. Lol. I always like seeing your new themes, though. The nifty Asian painting-y one looks great.

  9. Thanks for sharing. These are great affirmations.

Leave a Reply

