Reassurance!

This guy here makes me feel better about not having gone to college.  And so I congratulate him on being Freshly Pressed.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying college is a bad thing, and I’m not putting anyone down for having gone to college, because seriously, if you got through it, or are currently getting through it, great job.  I admire you.  That’s a shit ton of work.  (Mind you, I love studying when I want to, it’s when I have to or someone’s going to flush my money and my future down the toilet that makes me whine like a five year old.)

In any case, my point is that, fresh out of high school, I had no idea what I wanted to seriously pursue.  I only knew that I felt like shit for having to stay home and get a job while I watched all my friends go off to further their educations.

Then… one by one they dropped out, flunked out, or spent an extra year (or two) because it was more struggle than they expected.  That could have been me, and I’ll tell you right now that, if I had gone to college at 18, it definitely would have been.  I didn’t have the drive.  Hell, I was damn lucky I graduated high school in the middle of my class.  I was lucky I graduated.  I never went to school, and when I did I really didn’t do much.  My teachers loved me.  Which I exploited to the best of my ability.

I also flunked 10th grade gym.  Not because I didn’t participate, but because I refused to write papers for it.  That’s what health class was for, and I’d be damned if I was going to write a five to ten page paper for gym class.

I got a little off track there, but I think it illustrates the point of my high school attitude.

At 25, I think I’m more equipped to handle college, though because I was a high school douche, I didn’t bother taking my SAT test or my ACT… in fact, the only test I took was the ASVAB and did AMAZING.  Not that it helped me, because my attempts at joining the Army were foiled. XD  I’m also grateful for that at this point in my life.  It was a “I have no direction, my friends are in college, what the fuck am I going to do with my life?” decision. Also, my JROTC sergeant wanted me to give it a go.

So, in short, I agree, and think that 18 is too young for most people to decide what they want long term… and to bet that much cash on it… yeah, I’m all set there.

12 Comments

Filed under Life

12 responses to “Reassurance!

  1. Erin M

    I didn’t know at 17 what I wanted to do, and at 23 I still don’t know.

    I went to university for 4 years (got an Hons. degree in English) and college for 1 year (so far. I’m working on a certificate in Editing & Publishing). I’m one of those losers who love learning and spend their time studying instead of partying. O_o

    Magically, I’m still debt-free.

    But after all that?

    I’m also one of those losers who still live at home with their parents and have no prospects for a job and don’t know what they want to do with their lives. (I’ve had a summer job the past few years researching and reenacting at a local museum, but I’m currently unemployed, and the museum can’t hire me again because of grant/funding stipulations. And I live in a small town; so I can either move to the city [and work at a grocery store, maybe?] or apply at the local donut shop. Go university education!)

    Do I regret university? Not for a second. I learned a tonne of stuff.

    Did it guarantee me a job? Not. at. all.

    Am I worried? Sometimes. Do I feel like a failure? Yep.

    Now the plan is to see if I can set up an art business—painting portraits, making little bits of junk to sell on Etsy, that sort of thing. I really don’t want a desk job. But I’m still figuring out what I do want to do.

    The whole “changing my mind every three days” thing really doesn’t help. =\

    In short?

    University/college is definitely not for everyone, and it certainly doesn’t ensure success. And 18 really is too young to force people to make such big decisions about their future!

    So . . . I totally agree with your post . . .

    =]

    • I’m also the ‘study over partying’ sort, though it’s never really helped me through school. I hate studying when I have to. XD I’m a jerk that way.

      That’s another problem my college-grad friends have: they have the degree, but can’t find a job to put their educations to use. And that sucks hard.

      If I ever got a degree, it would be in history, from some standpoint or other, and what the hell can I do with that? Mostly nothing. Teach. I hate teenagers. XD

      I feel yo pain, sistah.

  2. unabridgedgirl

    First, I have to say to Erin that I don’t think she’s a loser….

    ERIN, YOU ARE NOT A LOSER!

    Helllllloooo….me, 26? Living with my parents, because of job loss? STILL struggling through school?

    OKAY…

    I agree. I started college when I was 17. I had full ride scholarships to choose from, and I thought theater was what I wanted to do. I was good at it. I am still good at it. But it wasn’t.

    And with as many times as I’ve changed my mind – – I really wish that I would’ve just waited before spending my time and money.

    Luckily, I love to go to school. I love to listen to lectures and write essays and do research. If I could be payed for being a professional student? I totally would.

    But I don’t think that NOT going to college makes anyone a loser. There are million ways to learn and to succeed in life.

    Love,

    Me.

    • I agree, Erin is NOT a loser. Besides, there are SO many people dealing with the same issues. It’s a fault of the current state of the world economy, not the individual.

      I’m also living with my parents and unemployed. In fact, at 25 years old, I’ve never been on my own.

      Life is all… struggle-y. Stupid expensive…ness. *fistshake*

      • Erin M

        Yeah. Stupid world economy! *joins in fistshake*

        We should create an underground movement of . . . awesomeness! =]

    • Erin M

      In your defense, you had medical bills you had to pay. Also you have a job. So . . . you’re not a loser, either XD Hooray! Ha ha.

      But thanks.
      xoxoxo

  3. unabridgedgirl

    AYE! AYE! AYE! I mean… * blink *

  4. I think that everyone should spend a year or two minimum traveling weather they have money or not. I can travel cheaper than I can stay at home when I put my mind to it. I think we need a few life lessons in between textbook lessons.

    • Oooh, that would have been fantastic after high school. Maybe someday. <3 I definitely agree, though. It's hard to go to college and be expected to gain a textbook understanding of the world when you don't have much practical understanding of it.

Leave a Reply

