“I always knew I wanted to be a writer.”

I hear so many aspiring writers say that “I always knew I wanted to be a writer!”, and sometimes I wonder, “Are you telling the truth, or bullshitting just because you want to appear more credible and dedicated than you really are?”  I’m a skeptic.  And a complete asshole, sometimes, so naturally… I say things like, “Prove it.  Cite your biographical references.”

Because I’m an asshole.

And because I did NOT always want to be a writer.  I know how I GOT to that point, and thought, “THIS is what I want to do with the rest of my life.  Paid or unpaid, THIS is what makes me happy.”

What I really wanted to be more than anything else in the history of the whole world ever… was Indiana Jones.  I’m still waiting for Harrison Ford to either abdicate or kick the bucket, because, let me tell you, that title is still mine.

ANYWAY!  I can totally link my Indiana Jones aspiration to my love for writing.  Maybe not in six contacts, but I can do it.

My childhood love for Indy turned into “I want to be an archaeologist” when I got old enough to understand that, unless you work at a theme park, you can’t make a living off of being a fictional character.  From there, I took to researching ancient and pre-modern cultures and traditions and found that my love wasn’t in artifacts, but in the people that experienced these epic events (or even day to day experiences that, by today’s standards, are incredible).  So, I thought “I’ll be a history teacher!”  Until I remembered that, as a whole, I hate teenagers.  It wasn’t until I was about fifteen that I realized “I read a lot, daydream a lot, and read history text books like it’s my job.  Maybe I should start writing short stories to kill time.”  So I did.

Short stories grew to novellas and novellas to novels.  I have two complete novels finished (unpublished) and a few half-finished burdens of my brain.  I have so many short stories, I just started throwing them out because they’re cluttering my life.  (I write my short stories by hand, usually, sitting at Dunkin Donuts by myself, so I have scribbly notebook paper exploding out my ears.)

So, there.  I did NOT always know I wanted to be a writer.  Once upon a time, I wanted to be Indiana Jones.  =]

…..

(IN FOUR CONTACTS!  Also, I didn’t mean that everyone who says they always knew they wanted to be a writer is lying.  Some people are telling the truth.  I’m just a jerk. <3 =] )

17 Comments

Filed under Life, Writing

17 responses to ““I always knew I wanted to be a writer.”

  1. I know what you mean. It doesn’t irritate me, per se, so much as make me sit back and go “wow… and you stuck to that for so long?”

    I liked writing as a kid, and really, reeeeeelly wanted to write my own stuff, but I just didn’t have the skills. So I swore it off in favor of music, which I pursued seriously until my sophomore year of college. By that point things had changed. Somehow, somewhere, I’d learned the skills I needed. I didn’t want to be a music teacher. I changed my major to get a B.A. in English Lit, thinking I’d become a technical writer or an advertising copy writer.

    Heh.

    Around that time, I had to take a creative writing elective…

    So it took me a while, too, before I figured out how much I like writing. :)

    • I think that everyone eventually has to stumble upon their niche life, either through direct or indirect coaxing. I can easily see someone who says, “I always knew I wanted to be blah-blah-blah!” COMPLETELY bored with it by age thirty, and ready to ‘start over’ from square one.

      It’s funny to me until Karma punches me in the face and helps me suck at life for being mean. XD

  2. jaycruz

    The phrase is a cliche because it comes from another cliche, and myth, that “you were born to do this”. Everyone probably goes through the “I always knew” phase until they find something else they “always knew” or find themselves doing it competently for a long time.

    • Good point, and it makes sense and brings me back to “You’re saying it because you want to look more credible and dedicated than you really are.”

      For example, a childhood friend of mine wanted to be a veterinarian for as long as I’d known her. Now she works in sales in a call center, but says “I always knew I wanted to be a teacher!”

      … Where and when the hell did you ever want to be a teacher? Where was I?

      Yeah, yeah, I’m a jerk. </3

      Thank you for commenting! =]

  3. unabridgedgirl

    I have always loved to create stories. Ever since I was a kid, I was always imagining stuff. In the sixth grade, I knew I wanted to write, but a teacher basically told me it wasn’t worth pursuing. So, I changed my focus. I did other things. It is only the last few years that I realize how much I love writing, and that it IS what I want to do. It is only the last while, too, that I am beginning to feel that there IS a writer in me, and I do have the talent.

    All the same, I still love my criminology major. It does come in handy with writing, though. :)

    • Criminology, huh? O_O Sounds like an interesting work load you’re carrying. Lol. What brought you from writing to criminology?

      • unabridgedgirl

        Mmm…Well, it’s more than that, really. Basically, I went from full-ride scholarships with theater (and realized it wasn’t the environment I wanted to be in), to being an English major (and realizing that there was nothing I could do with English that I -wanted- to do), to realzing that, if I cannot write, I want to help people. I have always been interested in forensics, law, etc. Some months ago I took an aptitude test and scored 98%, and I want to help people…so…here I am…

        But. I do want write. It is a part of who I am.

    • That’s exactly what I did. Then I figured out that fantasy is my niche. Heehee. :) Good luck on that.

  4. Who knows, maybe criminology will satisfy your need to help people and be the source of a best-selling crime novel! Optimism, go! =]

  5. You’ve got a little snark, don’t you? :) Glad we ran into each other. Personality is good in this industry. Oh, and while I didn’t always want to be a writer, I always wrote. I do things backwards. It wasn’t until college that I thought about writing for a living and it was one of those “when I retire from the police force” kind of dreams. The police job never happened and I floundered for a while. Oh well. Floundering is good for writing. if you don’t know what confusion is, how can you write it in a character? :)

    • Well, I’m glad floundering has its purposes, because I do it fairly often. (In the form of whining and flailing? Yes, I think so.)

      I think working to get a feel for what you have to do to pay the bills beyond writing is useful, though. It’s too bad being a superhero is pretty much a volunteer gig. =/

      Thanks for the comment. =] And yes… I do have snark. I blame webcomics.

  6. I so agree with you (I’ve got some asshole in me, too). I wanted to be a ballerina, then an actress, then a guitarist in a rock-band, then a singer in a rock-band, and now I’m still way too scared to admit how much I love writing for fear that it’ll creep up on me that I’m absolutely no good and that there’s no point to life at all. Yeah, I leap to big conclusions ^_^”.

  7. Erin M

    I’ve been writing stories for as long as I can remember, and I hope to goodness I’ll keep writing for the rest of my life (though some days I’m terrified that I’ve run out of things to say/stories to tell/ways to say things), but . . . even now, if you ask me what I want to be “when I grow up”? No idea. I could say “writing and art” . . . but I change my mind every three days (no, seriously).

    If I ever get published, I might pretend I always knew I wanted to write — or I might confess that I’ve never had any direction to my life, and that I’ve wanted to be everything from a spy to a lighthouse keeper, jazz singer, femme fatale, housewife, pastry chef, milliner, professional paper-crane-folder . . . et cetera.

    PS: I remember when I wanted to be Indiana Jones, too. XD 1930s-archaeologist-professor-adventurers are where it’s at!

    • See. Therein lies the ACTUAL problem of being a writer. XD You want to be everything you could ever write about. DAMN IMAGINATION! I wanted to be Batman for awhile too. Or some similarly awesome crime-fighter/superhero. XD

      And your post-script says it all! >=D

  8. Ha!

    I know what you mean though. Whenever you say you’re a writer, or writing a novel, people always want to either say they once wanted to do that too, or find it adorable. It’s freakin annoying, and I really wish I could be a jerk and tell them off, so in many ways you are lucky to be able to voice your jerkiness, timid people like myself don’t, and it’s probably bad for us, lol.

    We have a similar story it seems. I studied anthropology, then archeology, then history, but ended up with a theater degree, then two years after college I realized I wanted to be a writer not an actor. Go figure! I think the connection was always that I was fascinated by people, places, and their stories. Good luck with your goal as well my friend!

    • Thanks for stopping by! I don’t know if my jerkiness is a good thing, though it has it’s perks.

      It’s good to want to be and do a lot of different things, because wanting those things leads you to research and experience that, ultimately, can only help your writing. You can’t be well-rounded if ALL you do is write. Besides, I’ll bet having all that theater experience gives you a different perspective on character development. =]

Leave a Reply

