Flash Fiction Thursdays

UnabridgedGirl has posed a fun challenge on her blog called Flash Fiction Thursday, and I thought I’d crank out something to post for that.  So, in the last half hour, this is what I came up with:

“Light it,” the whisper quaked as she dragged the backs of her fingers through the tear-streaked rouge marring her cheeks. “Light it, Phineas!”

The match pinned between Phineas’ thumb and forefinger remained uncertainly poised against the rough grain of the box edge. “We’re in the middle of the city, Grace, I–”

“For the love of God, Phin, please!” Her demand fell more desperate, laced with a sob as the woman turned away from the towering whore house she had once called home. The darkened windows stared down at her like reaper with a toothless smile, mocking her—her stomach churned and she pressed lace-gloved fingers to her lips as she waited for the wave of nausea to subside.

The epidemic had claimed her sisters, beautiful girls, filthy by societal standards—though not a one of them would have hesitated in giving her their last bank note if she needed it. The doctors surpassed them. The townspeople shunned them. They were allowed to die, not through the fever that swept through Dakai City, but through simple inhumanity.

Grace had loved, cried with, and laughed with them. She had been through the hardest of times with the very same girls who were now corpses, covered by soiled sheets out of modesty and respect, with no good, church-side cemetery that would take them.

Phineas laid a hand on Grace’s shoulder, his fingers, covered in coal dust from the train yard, left a smudge on the ruffle of her dress sleeve. He repositioned the match against the edge of the box, and struck it, a spark exploding and engulfing the tip of the small matchstick in a bright yellow glow. Slowly, he approached the brothel steps, and held the flame above them.

“Are you absolutely certain, Grace? We can think of som–”

Grace whirled around and sobbed. “Just drop it!”

Giving a stout nod, Phineas dropped the match into the puddle left by the shattered paraffin lamp and a tidal wave of flame erupted to cover all the kerosene had touched. He stepped back, an arm snaking around Grace as the last place she called home was gradually consumed by the flames.

22 Comments

Filed under Flash Fiction Thursday, Writing

22 responses to “Flash Fiction Thursdays

  1. Pingback: witch of venezia. «

  2. Nice! This Flash Fiction thing has me very intrigued!

  3. unabridgedgirl

    :( SAD. I really liked it, though! Very vivid. And I could feel a whole story behind it all.

  4. I love this! I really felt for Grace from the very start through til the end :( Good work!

    I have a horrible time being concise as well. :/ One of my professors has been trying to get me to condense my papers to one page. He’s refusing to grade anything that he doesn’t see on the first page. Ha! It’s sort of working.

  5. Oh my gosh. This was so incredibly good. I can just see myself reading this in a book – there’s such a story behind this piece that I can just feel the pages turning.

  6. Erin M

    I agree with everyone else: There’s so much behind this piece. It could easily fit into a much longer story, and I’m curious to know what happens around it!

    PS, I love the name Phineas / nickname Phin. I didn’t give it much thought ’til today, but you’ve won me over. =]

  7. leah

    That was awesome kate, I really liked it.

  8. Came here from PS. This is the first one I read.
    Great.
    Reminds me of 1950s Science Fiction.

  9. Hello Dear, are you really visiting this web page daily, if so after that you
    will without doubt take fastidious know-how.

  10. Why viewers still make use of to read news papers
    when in this technological globe everything is accessible on net?

  11. Aw, this was an exceptionally good post. Spending some time and
    actual effort to create a very good article… but what can I say… I procrastinate a whole lot and
    never seem to get anything done.

  12. I think this is among the most significant info for me.
    And i’m glad reading your article. But should
    remark on some general things, The website style is wonderful, the articles is really excellent
    : D. Good job, cheers

  13. It’s in point of fact a great and useful piece of information. I’m happy that you
    just shared this helpful information with us. Please keep us informed like this.

    Thank you for sharing.

  14. On the plus side you are close to Kyoto and you can increase in size quickly.
    Start with an odd number, and you’ll get to pick so choose your starting number wisely.
    If you are committed to each other you must have a plan.

Leave a Reply

